Erika Flint announced as 2014's 'Athena Award' recipient

Published 07/25 2014 10:53AM

Updated 07/25 2014 11:47AM

The Greater Watertown – North Country Chamber of Commerce announced Erika Flint as the 2014 ATHENA Award® winner. 

The ATHENA Award® honors individuals who strive toward the highest levels of professional accomplishment, and those who excel in their chosen fields, have devoted time and energy into their community in a meaningful way, and who open paths so that others may follow. 

The selection committee, composed of previous award recipients, reviewed the nominations using the official ATHENA International® selection criteria and chose Mrs. Flint the recipient of this year's award.

In 2011, Erika became Executive Director of the Watertown Urban Mission, administering a $1.4 million budget.  Through Erika’s leadership and unwavering determination, she has led the Watertown Urban Mission to the successful completion of a $2 million capital campaign, the first in the Mission’s history. 

Her community service includes involvement in organizations such as North Country Family Health Center, Northern New York Community Foundation’s LEAD Council, Watertown Local Development Corporation, Jefferson County Community Services, Greater Watertown Jaycees, WPBS-DT, Samaritan Medical Center Auxiliary, Watertown Noon Rotary, and many other local community programs.

Previous local ATHENA Award® recipients are Rose Frattali, Michelle Pfaff, Janice Charles, Chandler Ralph, Lana Brown-Taylor, Cathy Pircsuk, Elizabeth Fipps, Deborah McGloine, Jayn Graves, Maria Roche, Margaret (Peg) Fargo, Ruth-Ellen Blodgett, Pamela Caswell, Jane Gendron, Mary Corriveau, Cindy Intschert, Katherine Fenlon, Donna Dutton, Jody LaLone, Pamela Beyor, Lisa Weber, Denise Young and Margaret (Peggy) Coe.

The 2014 aTHENA Award®  will be presented  at a formal dinner, Thursday September 4, 2014, at the Hilton Garden Inn in Watertown.

Copyright 2016 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.