The North Country Book Club is bringing together reads from all over the tri-county area!

It's your one-stop shop for everything books. We'll help you find local book clubs, help pick out what to read next, give you a place to talk to other readers about your books, and more! We even give away a book pack every month with titles for every type of reader!

Explore the North Country Book Club and discover what worlds await!

Featured Book of the Month

(Cover courtesy of http://www.goodreads.com/ )

Still Life by Louise Penny

(Published July 2006)

Still Life is the first in the fabulous Chief Inspector Armand Gamache series by Louise Penny.

A few years ago my best friend put this book under my nose after meeting the author at a signing event. I took a chance on the seemingly cozy little mystery about a police detective called in to solve a mystery in a rural village south of Montréal. While on one hand the book reminds us that no one and no place is safe from the uglier sides of human nature, it is hard not to fall in love with the characters and the village. And by the end of this book, and every one following, I would totally overlook a little murder to live in a place like Three Pines. I recommend this to all of my mystery readers, and it's also a great pick for book clubs.

Plot Description from Macmillan

Readalikes:

  • The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie - Alan Bradley
  • The Shape of Water - Andrea Camilleri
  • Maisie Dobbs - Jacqueline Winspear
  • Death at La Fenice - Donna Leon
  • The Beekeeper's Apprentice - Laurie R. King

Still Life is available through the North Country Library System In Print,as an audiobook, or in Large Print Format, or check out the screen adaptation!.

Xan VanArsdale is the Head of Technical Services for the Potsdam Public Library. She is an avid readers of books in general, with no particular genre being safe, although she does have a soft spot for graphic novels.




June's Winning Book Pack!

Dark Lord "The Early Years"

- Jamie Thomson

The Sharp Hook of Love

- Sherry Jones

Staying Strong (A Journal)

- Demi Lovato

After Hours

- Claire Kennedy

Love Smart

- Dr. Phil McGraw

A new friend for Marmalade

- Alison Reynolds & Heath McKenzie

Hope Solo (My Story)

-Harper

Bluff City Pawn

- Stephen Schottenfeld

Norman Mailer (A Double Life)

-J. Michael Lennon

Max Makes a Cake

- Michelle Edwards

Fletcher's Big Show

-Julia Rawlinson & Tiphanie Beeke

Reading Room coin jar

Don't Miss

  • Halloween Kids Photo Contest
    Copyright 2017 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.
  • Halloween Pet Photo Contest
    Copyright 2017 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.
  • Orange Nation Fan Photo Contest
    Copyright 2017 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.
  • Making Strides Against Breast Cancer
    Copyright 2017 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.
  • Made in NNY
  • NNY Eats
    Copyright 2017 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.
  • Children's Miracle Network
    Copyright 2017 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.
  • Orange Nation