JEFFERSON COUNTY, N.Y. (WWTI) — The Jefferson County Board of Elections has certified the results from the 2022 primary election.

This election took place on Tuesday, June 28 and included races for Jefferson County Sheriff, Member of 116th Assembly District seat and New York State Governor.

Results were released immediately following the election but were officially certified on July 7 by County Democrat Commissioner Michelle LaFave and Republican Commissioner Jude Seymour.

In Jefferson County, residents were able to vote for the next Jefferson County Sheriff and Member of Assembly for the 116th district which stretches across the Lake Ontario and St. Lawrence River shoreline from Cape Vincent to Massena and includes the city of Watertown.

Scott A. Gray was named the unofficial winner of the Republican primary for the 116th Assembly District. In total there were 4,205 votes cast. Gray received 2,353 votes and the remaining 1,851 were for his Republican opponent Susan M. Duffy.

Registered party voters were also asked to cast their vote for Governor candidates in New York State pertaining to their affiliated political party. There were 1,615 votes counted for the primary gubernatorial election. A breakdown of those votes is listed in the tables below.


CandidateTotal Votes
Thomas R. Suozzi294
Kathy C. Hochul1,119
Jumaane D. Williams144
Total Votes Cast1,575
Total Ballots Cast1,588


CandidateTotal Votes
Rob Astorino659
Andrew Giuliani1,741
Harry Wilson2,015
Lee Zeldin1,292
Total Votes Cast5,717
Total Ballots Cast5,827

Lieutenant Governor/Democrat

CandidateTotal Votes
Ana Maria Archila329
Diana Reyna388
Antonio Delgado703
Total Votes Cast1,430
Total Ballots Cast1,588

The full Jefferson County Primary Election results can be found online.