Schools in Jefferson, Lewis counties encouraged to apply for Safe Schools Endeavor grants


WATERTOWN, N.Y. (WWTI) — All schools in Jefferson and Lewis counties, public and private, are eligible to seek Safe Schools Endeavor grants. The deadline to submit applications for funding is November 5.

In partnership with the Northern New York Community Foundation, the Safe Schools Endeavor provides funding for projects, programs and initiatives that seek to strengthen school safety and improve student and campus culture. Applications must be completed through the Northern New York Community Foundation’s online Grant Lifecycle Manager. The Safe Schools Endeavor stresses awareness, empowerment and action within school communities. Grant proposals will be evaluated based upon the degree to which they embody such desired outcomes. A scoring rubric is available online.

Although any amount can be requested, typical grants will fall in the range of $1,000 to $2,500. All projects and programs must begin or occur in the 2021-2022 school year and be supported by the respective school district. Funding for reimbursement of expenses for programs or projects that have already occurred will not be considered.

Applications for funding can be submitted by students, teachers, faculty, staff and parents. Student-led proposals and those involving close collaboration with students may receive additional weight as funding is considered. Proposals can include student or parent programming, equipment, faculty and staff training, or anything that applicants believe would enhance the overall safety of the school and its members. Grant awards will be determined in December and applicants will be notified of a decision in January.

Since 2018, nearly $46,000 in grant funding has been awarded to 15 schools in Jefferson and Lewis counties. This has included projects to enhance security systems, implement art programs, purchase safety equipment and additional student resource programs. Grants are made possible by generous gifts from individuals and businesses in both counties.

Jeff-Lewis BOCES Superintendent Stephen Todd, who serves on the Safe Schools Endeavor Committee,
has called the endeavor a “game-changer” because “it’s all about empowerment.”

In 2018 and 2019, 26 projects were awarded grant funding totaling $45,698. Schools and projects receiving
support have included:

  • Alexandria Central School, to purchase the Raptor Security System.
  • Augustinian Academy, Carthage, to purchase security cameras and door barricades and to fund the “Child Lures Prevention” program.
  • Beaver River Central School, to purchase a school “visitor management system.”
  • Carthage Middle School, to fund “Positive Behaviors Interventions and Supports” campus assemblies.
  • Copenhagen Central School, to fund trauma training for school staff and a “Mindful Educator Course.”
  • General Brown Junior/Senior High School, Dexter, to fund an “Emotion into Art” program.
  • Immaculate Heart Central School, Watertown, to support the “Stop the Bleed Program.”
  • Indian River Middle School, Philadelphia, to purchase safety vests, radios, and trauma bags.
  • LaFargeville Central School District, to fund manikins and an automated external defibrillator.
  • Lowville Academy and Central School, Lowville, to fund the “Stop the Bleed” program and purchase security monitors.
  • Lyme Central School District, to support the “Stop the Bleed Program.”
  • Sackets Harbor Central School District, to purchase security cameras and “Halo Units” that detect vaping and smoking.
  • South Jefferson Middle and High School, to support the “Sources of Strength” program and fund a motivational speaker program.
  • Thousand Islands High School, to fund the creation of a “mindfulness room.”
  • Watertown City School District’s Case Middle School, to fund the “Totally Vocally” program and to purchase lockdown items.
  • Watertown City School District Learning Center, to purchase a public address system.
  • Watertown City School District Middle and High schools, to fund the “Campus Impressions” program.
  • Watertown City School District’s Sherman Street School, to fund a “Leonardo Music” assembly and an anti-bullying assembly.
  • Watertown City School District’s Wiley Elementary School, to fund safety equipment.

Copyright 2021 Nexstar Media Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.

Trending Stories