Dino Babers named ACC Co-Coach of the Year by the AP

Orange Nation

MIAMI GARDENS, FL – OCTOBER 21: Head coach Dino Babers of the Syracuse Orange looks on during a game against the Miami Hurricanes at Sun Life Stadium on October 21, 2017 in Miami Gardens, Florida. (Photo by Mike Ehrmann/Getty Images)

Orange head football coach Dino Babers was voted the co-Atlantic Coast Conference Coach of the Year by the Associated Press on Tuesday, Dec. 4.

Babers, who led Syracuse to a 9-3 regular-season record and a berth in the Camping World Bowl, shared the award with Clemson’s Dabo Swinney.

After being picked last in the ACC Atlantic Division during the preseason, Syracuse posted a 6-2 league record and finished second in the division behind No. 2 Clemson.

The Orange cracked the national polls for the first time since 2001 and are one of three Power-Five teams (Baylor and Florida are the others) that have increased their win total by five from last season.

In addition to Babers’ honor, the Orange had six players voted to the AP’s All-ACC teams Tuesday. Placekicker Andre Szmyt (Vernon Hills, Ill.), safety Andre Cisco (Valley Stream, N.Y.) and punter Sterling Hofrichter (Valrico, Fla.) were first-team choices. Quarterback Eric Dungey (Lake Oswego, Ore.), defensive end Alton Robinson (Converse, Texas) and linebacker Ryan Guthrie (Cumming, Ga.) made the second team.

Clemson’s Travis Etienne (Offensive Player of the Year), Clelin Ferrell (Defensive Player of the Year) and Trevor Lawrence (Newcomer of the Year) captured the AP’s other top awards.

The award winners and all-conference teams were determined by a vote of 14 sports writers who regularly cover the ACC for newspapers or broadcast outlets.

The 17th-ranked Orange will square off against No. 15 West Virginia (8-3, 6-3 Big 12) in the 2018 Camping World Bowl in Orlando, Fla. on Friday, Dec. 28.

Copyright 2019 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.