Eric Dungey named finalist for Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award

Orange Nation
North Carolina State v Syracuse_1541710887040-118809342

SYRACUSE, NY – OCTOBER 27: Eric Dungey #2 of the Syracuse Orange runs with the ball during the first quarter as he fends off Germaine Pratt #3 of the North Carolina State Wolfpack at the Carrier Dome on October 27, 2018 in Syracuse, New York. (Photo by Brett Carlsen/Getty Images)

Syracuse’s Eric Dungey (Lake Oswego, Ore.) is one of the 10 remaining quarterbacks in the hunt for the 2018 Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award®, presented by A.O. Smith.  

The Golden Arm Award selection committee narrowed its list of the top candidates from 15 to 10 on Thursday, Nov. 8. 

Named after one of the greatest quarterbacks of all-time, the award has been presented annually since 1987 to the nation’s top college quarterback. Candidates must be a college senior or fourth-year junior on schedule to graduate with their class. Criteria to be considered for the award include character, citizenship, scholastic achievement, leadership qualities and athletic accomplishments.

Dungey holds or shares 16 Syracuse school records and is one of two active FBS quarterbacks with more than 8,000 career passing yards and 1,000 career rushing yards (Penn State’s Trace McSorley is the other). Earlier this season, Dungey became the eighth signal-caller in ACC history to surpass 10,000 yards of total offense.

Recently voted a team captain for the second year in a row, Dungey is 169-for-276 (.612) passing for 2,001 yards and 13 touchdowns. He’s also run for a team-high 628 yards and 10 scores. Dungey is second in the ACC and 18th nationally in total offense at 292.1 yards per game. He has scored a rushing touchdown in six consecutive games dating back to the UConn game on Sept. 22.

An accounting major in Syracuse’s Martin J. Whitman School of Management, Dungey is a two-time CoSIDA Academic All-District honoree, a three-time ACC Honor Roll selection, and a previous member of the Syracuse Student-Athlete Advisory Committee.

Past Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award® winners include Syracuse’s Don McPherson, who took home the inaugural trophy in 1987. Orange greats Marvin Graves (1993) and Donovan McNabb (1998) were Golden Arm Award finalists during their senior seasons.

For more information about the Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award®, visit

2018 Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award® Top 10 Finalists
Eric Dungey, Syracuse
Ryan Finley, NC State
Will Grier, West Virginia
Justin Herbert, Oregon
Drew Lock, Missouri
Trace McSorley, Penn State
McKenzie Milton, UCF
Gardner Minshew, Washington State
Shea Patterson, Michigan
Brett Rypien, Boise State

Copyright 2020 Nexstar Broadcasting, Inc. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten, or redistributed.